

York University Faculty of Health Council

Notice of Meeting

Wednesday, November 2, 2016 3:00 pm – 4:30 pm

Senate Chamber, N940 Ross Building

Agenda

- 1. Chair's Remarks
- 2. Minutes of the Meeting of September 14, 2016
- 3. Business arising from the minutes
- 4. Dean's Remarks
- 5. Report of the Executive & Planning Committee
- 6. Report of the Curriculum Committee
- 7. Senator's Report
- 8. Faculty Awards, Dean McDonald
- 9. Other Business

Faculty of Health meetings support our mission to provide an innovative and supportive environment for learning, discovery and engagement. To ensure our common value of diversity is fully reflected, our events, publications and meetings make every effort to be accessible to all.

2016-2017 Faculty of Health Council Meetings, 3:00pm-4:30pm, Senate Chamber, N940 Ross Building:

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

All are welcome and encouraged to attend!

Faculty of Health FACULTY COUNCIL Wednesday, September 14, 2016 Senate Chamber, N940 Ross Building

Minutes

Attendance: O. Adegoke, D. Alam, C. Ardern, L. Beagrie, J. Choiniere, J. Connolly, R. Cowan, J. Drake, H. Edgell, M. Fallah, D. Flora, M. Gola, J. Goldberg, M. Hamadeh, L. Harris, M. Hynie, J. Jeffrey, H. Jenkin, E. Jensen, G. Jon, L. Lum, J. MacDonnell, P. McDonald, A. Moore, S. Murtha, L. Nicholson, A. Perry, B. Pilkington, R. Pillai Riddell, A. Pos, J. Rawana, N. Richardson, L. Sergio, J. Steele, R. Steele, N. Stuckless, H. Tamim, M. Wiktorowicz, G. Zoidl.

Adobe Connect attendance: A. Abdul Sater, A. Belcastro, C. El Morr, D. England, C. Van Daalen Smith.

Guests: W. Anderson, I. Backhouse, F. Clarke R. Bishop, L. Sadhwani, L. Shah.

1. Chair's remarks

Chair H. Edgell welcomed Council members. She thanked past Chair of Council, Heather Jenkin, and past committee members for their work and accomplishments.

She reminded Council members and guests to sign the attendance book and note dates and time of upcoming Council meetings.

This year, Council will continue to pilot Adobe Connect thus allowing those who are off-site to participate at meetings. The Adobe Connect link will be circulated with Council material.

Members of Council were encouraged to raise name cards when voting and use microphones when addressing Council.

Chair H. Edgell called for nominations to serve the York University Community Safety Council (CSC) for the 2016-2017 academic year. The CSC is an advisory body with a focus on safety outcomes, practices, and policies. The Faculty representative would be responsible for attending each of the CSC meetings and for sharing information with both the CSC and Faculty Council.

Professor C. Van Daalen Smith was acclaimed to serve the York University Safety Council for the 2016-2017 academic year.

2. Minutes of the Meeting May 4, 2016

Professor J. Jeffrey, moved, seconded by Professor E. Jensen, that the minutes of the May 4, 2016 meeting of Council be approved.

The motion carried.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. Dean's Remarks

Dean McDonald congratulated faculty on their scholarship and commended faculty, staff and students for their dedication to knowledge mobilization, service, and engagement.

Reflecting on his first five weeks at York University, Dean McDonald noted the importance of:

• Collegial leadership;

- Imagination and thinking big;
- Creating a culture of joint accountability;
- Differentiating Faculty of Health from other Faculties and academic institutions; and
- Building a brand and fostering brand recognition.

Dean McDonald encouraged members of Council to continue to strive for excellence, think creatively and positively impact communities.

5. Report of the Executive and Planning Committee Vice-Chair N. Richardson provided the report.

The Executive and Planning Committee did not meet during June, July or August and was not required to exercise the summer authority granted to it by Council in May 2016.

Vice-Chair N. Richardson announced that Professor L. Sergio and Professor R. Pillai Riddell were elected to serve as Faculty of Health Senators for a three year term, concluding June 30, 2019.

Vice-Chair N. Richardson called for nominations to serve Senate's Committee on Academic Policy, Planning and Research.

Faculty were encouraged to email expressions of interest to L. Sadhwani by Friday, September 23, 2016.

Vice-Chair N. Richardson called for nominations to serve the Petitions Committee as an 'at large' member. Council members were reminded that the two members elected 'at large' shall not be from the same School/Department. Professor O. Birot, School of Kinesiology & Health Science, is one of the 'at large' members. Faculty were encouraged to email expressions of interest to L. Sadhwani by Friday, September 23, 2016.

6. Senator's Report

Senator J. Goldberg provided an update regarding the June 16, 2016 meeting of Senate.

Reflecting on and condemning the violence that had just taken place in Orlando, Florida, President Shoukri noted that York University supports renewed efforts for acceptance of diversity and promotion of inclusivity.

National Aboriginal Day, June 21, was marked with the unveiling of an Inuit sculpture, 'Ahqahizu'.

Senate received reports from the Board of Governors and Standing Committees of Senate. Faculty were encouraged to review the revised Student Appeals Procedures.

Provost R. Lenton and Vice-President Finance and Administration G. Brewer presented their spring reports and explained the impact of enrolment decline.

An Ontario Government task force recommended the establishment of a French-only university in Toronto. Efforts will be to further discussions on this recommendation so as to ensure that the French-only institution will not detract from Glendon's bilingualism mandate.

Senator Goldberg noted the commendations for the time and efforts of Professor R. Pillai Riddell in her service contributions in chairing the Academic Policy, Planning and Research Committee and highlighted that Senate approved the chartering of the Center for Automotive Research (CAR) for a five-year term beginning July 1, 2016.

Finally, as was noted at the Senate meeting, Senator Goldberg expressed congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Sarah Rabin, Department of Psychology, whose doctoral dissertation was awarded the prestigious Governor General's Gold Medal.

7. Other Business

There was no other business.

The meeting was adjourned.

2016-2017 Faculty of Health Council Meetings, 3:00pm - 4:30pm, Senate Chamber, N940 Ross **Building:**

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

R. Bishop, Secretary

Report of the Executive and Planning Committee of the Faculty of Health November 2016

ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

- 1. Senate Committee on Academic Policy, Planning and Research
- D. Flora has been acclaimed to the position of Senate Committee on Academic Policy, Planning and Research member.